HAVE/GET SOMETHING DONE

 

 

           MUM, I CUT MY HAIR!!!!!

 

 

 

HAVE/ GET SOMETHING DONE:

We use the structure have/get something done when we want to say that we ask someone else to do something for us.

Compare the sentences:
“I fixed the washing machine”. (I did it myself)
“I had my washing machine fixed”.
(I asked someone to fix it for me)

FORM

Tense have/get something done
Present Simple I have/get my hair cut.
Past Simple I had/got my hair cut.
Present Continuous I’m having/getting my hair cut.
Past Continuous I was having/getting my hair cut.
Present Perfect I have had my hair cut.
Past Perfect I had had my hair cut.
will I will have my hair cut.
must I must have my hair cut.
be going to I’m going to have my hair cut.

 

GET SOMEONE TO DO SOMETHING:

We use CAUSATIVE GET to show the idea that someone convinces another person to do something.
(get + someone + infinitive WITH TO)

I got her to let me copy her homework.
He’ll get them to arrive before 10 pm.

 NOW…ARE YOU READY TO PRACTISE?

EXERCISE 1, EXERCISE 2EXERCISE 3,

Now watch HOW TO GET SOMEONE TO KISS YOU!!!!

 

This entry was posted in Face2Face Upper-Intermediate, Grammar, Life Upper-Intermediate, Uncategorized, Unit 1, Unit 10. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment